COMPANY

FINANCIAL EXPERTS IN ACTION

Financial Experts in Action means acting, not reacting. ValueTrust stands for solution-oriented, independent and partnership-based financial consulting in demanding corporate situations. We work side by side with executives and investors, and accompany you as a trustworthy partner through financial decision-making processes. Working together with you, our aim is to make every effort to achieve sustainable success for your business. We bring passion, maximum commitment and a highly competent team of experts to each and every project.

When it comes to structuring and securing financial decisions, we are the right partner for you. By conviction.

MISSION

Expert-based business valuation and financial consulting for executives and investors in critical business situations. Typical situations where our experience and independence in financial analysis are required include transactions, restructuring and reorganization, disputes and litigation, as well as strategic value and portfolio management. We support our clients in an experience-based, partnership-based and independent spirit by clearly focusing on sustainable, practicable solutions that are both theoretically and legally sound.

SELF-IMAGE

Focus, experience, passion, independence and value enhancement.

Our principles influence everything we do and everyone we work with, both employees and clients. Five guiding principles form the basis for our actions and help us to transform the demanding business situations of our clients into sustainable successes:

FOCUSING IS CRUCIAL.

What distinguishes us is a clear and consistent focus on our clients and their entrepreneurial challenges. But also our own core competencies and the development of a synergetic organizational model. This focus allows us to act efficiently and always achieve maximum and sustainable business success for you.

EXPERIENCE COUNTS.

We are convinced that we can accompany you successfully through all of your challenging business situations. We achieve this by combining many years of expertise, innovative pioneering work and economic intuition. You benefit from a broad, state-of-the-art knowledge base, thanks to close networking with our supervisory and specialist advisory boards and institutions as well as the continuous certification programmes followed by our employees.

PASSION FOR ONE’S OWN WORK.

We turn your entrepreneurial challenges into our own tasks. Our consulting approach is based on the combination of many years of experience and specialist knowledge combined with state-of-the-art methodology. If we decide to take a project on, we work on it with passion, maximum commitment and conviction.

PROVEN INDEPENDENCE.

Our proven independence and ability to react quickly are decisive factors for your success. Our work is not influenced by personal or economic dependencies and our order acceptance is based on clear, results-oriented quality criteria. Since we operate independently of professional associations and their guidelines, we can use existing approaches to maximise customer benefits.

FOCUS ON VALUE ENHANCEMENT.

It is our policy not to accept an assignment until we are convinced that we can solve the challenges of our clients and create sustainable value enhancement. We are convinced of the lasting value of a long-standing, partnership-based relationship between client and consultant. We consider the trusted cooperation both with clients and with our employees to be one of the most important guiding principles for sustainable satisfaction and value enhancement for all.

HISTORY

From the very beginning, Christian Aders and Florian Starck have been driven by their vision of supporting decision-makers in challenging corporate situations and putting companies on a sustainable footing. They wanted to contribute their feeling for numbers, people and challenging business situations for the benefit and sustainable success of their clients. In 2007, they founded ValueTrust as part of the Duff & Phelps group of global consulting firms.

After several successful years together, it was time for another step. In response to the takeover and delisting of Duff & Phelps, the two former KPMG employees spun off their company in summer 2013.

As ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE, Christian Aders and Florian Starck have been working successfully with their employees in Munich, Frankfurt am Main, Vienna and Zurich to create mutual successes from the financial business situations of their clients.

TEAM

The partner at your side: ValueTrust Financial Experts.

  • Management
  • Supervisory Board / Senior Advisors

Prof. Dr. Christian Aders

Chairman of the Executive Board

Florian Starck

Member of the Executive Board

Thomas Kühl

Managing Director

Dr. Christian Büchelhofer

Managing Director

Marion Swoboda-Brachvogel

Director

Mehmet Özbay

Director

Prof. Dr. Christian Aders is Chairman of the Executive Board of ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE in the Munich office and co-founder of ValueTrust. After finishing his PhD in business administration, Chris was a partner at KPMG’s corporate finance department before he joined Duff & Phelps and ValueTrust to build up their German practices.

Florian Starck is a Member of the Executive Board of ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE in the Munich office and co-founder of ValueTrust. After finishing his studies business administration, Florian started his career in KPMG’s corporate finance department in Munich, where he was appointed German tax advisor in 2004. Florian joined Duff & Phelps and ValueTrust in 2007.

Thomas Kuehl is a Managing Director in the Frankfurt office of ValueTrust. After finishing his studies business administration at Otto-Friedrich University, Bamberg, and European Business Sciences at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, he started his career in KPMG´s corporate finance department. During this time, Thomas was appointed as a tax advisor  and a public accountant. Prior to joining ValueTrust in summer of 2016 he was a Partner at Baker Tilly Roelfs.

Dr. Christian Büchelhofer is a Managing Director in the Munich Office of ValueTrust. Christian holds the academic degrees Diplom-Kaufmann from European Business School Oestrich-Winkel and Master of Business Research (MBR) as well as Dr. oec. publ. from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU). Prior to joining ValueTrust in January 2018 Christian worked for KPMG Deal Advisory.

Marion Swoboda-Brachvogel is a Director in the Vienna office of ValueTrust. Marion studied business administration at Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich and completed a Masters in Finance at London Business School. Prior to joining ValueTrust in April 2017 Marion worked for McKinsey & Company, UniCredit, C.A. Cheuvreux und B&C Industry Holding.

Mehmet Özbay is a Director in the Munich office of ValueTrust. Mehmet studied Corporate Finance at the University of Cologne where he completed a Master’s degree (Diplom-Kaufmann) and the University of St. Gallen. Prior to joining ValueTrust in January 2014 Mehmet worked for Duff & Phelps, Lehman Brothers and Sal. Oppenheim.

C. Bernt Sannwald

Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Olaf Hoffmann

Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schwetzler

Senior Advisor

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Ballwieser

Senior Advisor

Prof. Dr. Ewald Aschauer

Senior Advisor

Sina Afra

Member of the the Supervisory Board

C. Bernt Sannwald is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE as well as the founder and managing director of Sannwald & Compagnie and advises a broad range of clients in corporate transactions.  He has more than 30 years’ experience in providing advice on corporate finance to German and international companies as well as private and public investors.

Olaf Hoffmann is Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board of ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE as well as CEO and president of Dorsch Holding GmbH and shareholder in the “Dorsch Group”. He has also been a member of the board of directors as well as the presidium of the Arab German Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Ghorfa) since 2009 in which he has also been the vice-president since 2012.

Bernhard Schwetzler is a Senior Advisor to ValueTrust as well as professor at the chair of financial management at the HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Finance. He is chairman of the expert groups “Corporate Transactions and Valuation” and “Fairness Opinions” in the German Association for Financial Analysis and Asset Management (DVFA).

Wolfgang Ballwieser is a Senior Advisor to ValueTrust as well as professor emeritus at the Munich school of management at the Ludwig-Maximilian University in Munich where he focuses on accounting and enterprise valuation. He is the author of numerous publications about accounting and enterprise valuation and has a broad range of practical experience in both fields.

Ewald Aschauer is a Senior Advisor to ValueTrust as well as professor at the chair of system stability and corporate monitoring of the University of Linz. Furthermore he is a member of the working group on business valuation of the Austrian chamber of public accountants and tax advisors which publishes the Austrian standard for business valuations (KFS BW 1).

Sina Afra is a Member of the the Supervisory Board of ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE as well as co-founder and CEO of Markafoni, the first and leading flash sales website in Turkey. Mr. Afra worked previously for more than 5 years for eBay and for KPMG for more than 12 years.  He is an active business angel who has received several awards and invests through Akinon in Turkish start-ups.

COOPERATIONS

ValueTrust and HHL Leipzig are working together on academic studies, such as the first German study on the systematic analysis of takeover bids and delisting strategies (“taking private study”).

ValueTrust is represented by an honorary professorship for “Practice of Transaction-Oriented Valuation and Value-Oriented Management” at the LMU Munich.

ValueTrust is sponsor of the quarterly “Finexpert-Report” of FINEXPERT GmbH. The report contains current capital market data, e.g. valuation multiples, yield curves and beta factors.

ValueTrust and the Johannes Kepler University Linz jointly conduct academic studies, such as a study on the Austrian transaction and capital markets.

Since 2012, a member of ValueTrust’s management has been co-editor of the Handelsblatt’s Jahrbuch Unternehmensbewertung.

The management of ValueTrust is a member of the editorial board of the trade journal Corporate Finance.

MEMBERSHIPS

ValueTrust is a member of the Munich M&A Forum e.V. association and sponsor of the Munich M&A Forum, which takes place every six months.

The CEO of ValueTrust chairs the DVFA Expert Group “Best Practice Recommendation Company Valuation” and is a member of the DVFA Expert Group “Fairness Opinions”.

ValueTrust employees are members of the European Association of Consultants, Valuators and Analysts (EACVA)-Germany, whose founding members include ValueTrust’s Chairman of the Board.

ValueTrust ist Sponsor des GCC-Germany Business and Investment Forums und des Arab-German Business Forums der Ghorfa Arab-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry e.V.
Die Geschäftsleitung von ValueTrust ist Mitglied der Expertengruppe “Investments”.

ValueTrust is licensed as a fairness opinion preparer for public takeovers and mergers in the Swiss market.

The Chairman of ValueTrust is a member of the Association of University Teachers for Business Administration (Verband der Hochschullehrer für Betriebswirtschaft e.V.).

ValueTrust employees are members of the CFA Society Germany (local association of the CFA Institute).

Unternehmen

FINANCIAL EXPERTS IN ACTION

Financial Experts in Action bedeutet für uns zu agieren, nicht zu reagieren. ValueTrust steht für lösungsorientierte, unabhängige und partnerschaftliche, finanzwirtschaftliche Beratung in anspruchsvollen Unternehmenssituationen. Wir arbeiten Seite an Seite mit Führungskräften und Investoren und begleiten Sie als vertrauensvolle Partner durch finanzwirtschaftliche Entscheidungsprozesse. Unser Anspruch ist es, gemeinsam mit Ihnen alles daran zu setzen, um nachhaltige Erfolge für Sie zu erzielen. An jedem Projekt arbeiten wir mit der uns auszeichnenden Leidenschaft, maximalem Engagement und einem hochkompetenten Expertenteam.

Bei der Gestaltung und Absicherung finanzwirtschaftlicher Entscheidungen, sind wir der richtige Partner für Sie. Aus Überzeugung.

MISSION

Expertenbasierte Unternehmensbewertung und finanzwirtschaftliche Beratung für Führungskräfte und Investoren in kritischen Unternehmens- situationen. Zu den typischen Situationen, in denen unser Erfahrungswissen und unsere Unabhängigkeit in der finanzwirtschaftlichen Analyse gefordert sind, gehören Transaktionen, Restrukturierungen und Reorganisationen, Gerichts- und Schiedsverfahren sowie strategisches Wert bzw. Portfoliomanagment. Erfahrungswissensbasiert, partnerschaftlich und unabhängig im Geiste unterstützen wir unsere Mandanten durch eine klare Fokussierung auf nachhaltige, praktikable Lösungen, die theorie- und gerichtsfest sind.

 

 

SELBSTVERSTÄNDNIS

Fokus, Erfahrungswissen, Leidenschaft, Unabhängigkeit und Wertsteigerung.

Unsere Prinzipien beeinflussen alles, was wir tun und jeden, mit dem wir zusammenarbeiten – sowohl Mitarbeiter als auch Mandanten. Fünf Leitprinzipien bilden die Grundlage für unser Handeln und helfen uns dabei, die anspruchsvollen Unternehmenssituationen unserer Mandanten in nachhaltigen Erfolg zu wandeln:

FOKUSSIERUNG IST ENTSCHEIDEND.

Was uns auszeichnet, ist eine klare und konsequente Fokussierung auf unsere Mandanten und deren unternehmerische Herausforderungen. Aber auch die eigenen Kernkompetenzen und der Aufbau eines synergetischen Organisationsmodells spielen eine große Rolle. Diese Fokussierung erlaubt es uns, effizient zu handeln und stets maximalen und nachhaltigen Unternehmenserfolg für Sie zu erzielen.

ERFAHRUNGSWISSEN ZÄHLT.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, Sie nachhaltig erfolgreich durch alle herausfordernden Unternehmenssituationen begleiten zu können. Das schaffen wir durch die Kombination aus langjähriger Expertise, innovativer Pionierarbeit und ökonomischer Intuition. Dank der engen Vernetzung mit unseren Aufsichts- bzw. Fachbeiräten und Institutionen sowie stetigen Zertifizierungsmaßnahmen unserer Mitarbeiter profitieren Sie von einer breiten Wissensbasis, die stets auf dem neuesten Stand ist.

LEIDENSCHAFT FÜR DAS EIGENE TUN.

Ihre unternehmerischen Herausforderungen machen wir zu unserer Aufgabe. Unser Beratungsansatz basiert auf der Kombination aus langjähriger Erfahrung und Spezialwissen in Verbindung mit State-of-the-Art-Methodik. Entscheiden wir uns für einen Auftrag, arbeiten wir daran mit Leidenschaft, maximalem Engagement und aus Überzeugung.

ERWIESENE UNABHÄNGIGKEIT.

Erwiesene Unabhängigkeit. Unsere nachweisliche Unabhängigkeit und schnelle Reaktionsfähigkeit sind entscheidende Faktoren für Ihren Erfolg. Unsere Arbeit wird nicht durch persönliche oder ökonomische Abhängigkeiten beeinflusst und unsere Auftragsannahme basiert auf klaren, ergebnisorientierten Qualitätskriterien. Wir agieren unabhängig von Berufsverbänden und deren Vorgaben, daher können wir bestehende Denkansätze für optimalen Kundennutzen einsetzen.

WERTSTEIGERUNG IM MITTELPUNKT.

Es ist unsere Maßgabe, einen Auftrag erst dann anzunehmen, wenn wir überzeugt sind, die Herausforderungen unserer Mandanten lösen und eine nachhaltige Wertsteigerung schaffen zu können. Wir sind vom Wert einer langjährigen, partnerschaftlichen Beziehung zwischen Mandant und Berater überzeugt und verstehen die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit sowohl mit Mandanten als auch mit unseren Mitarbeitern als eines der wichtigsten Leitmotive für nachhaltige Zufriedenheit und Wertsteigerung.

HISTORIE

Die Vision, Entscheider in herausfordernden Unternehmenssituationen zu unterstützen und Firmen auf eine zukunftsfähige Basis zu stellen, ist es, was Christian Aders und Florian Starck schon immer angetrieben hat. Sie wollten ihr Gespür für Zahlen, Menschen und herausfordernde Unternehmenssituationen zum Nutzen und nachhaltigen Unternehmenserfolg für ihre Mandanten einbringen. Aus diesem Grund gründeten sie 2007 ValueTrust im Konzernverbund der global tätigen Beratungsgesellschaft Duff & Phelps.

Nach mehreren erfolgreichen gemeinsamen Jahren war es Zeit für einen weiteren Schritt. Als Reaktion auf die Übernahme und das Delisting von Duff & Phelps spalteten die beiden ehemaligen KPMG-Mitarbeiter ihre Firma im Sommer 2013 ab.

Als ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE arbeiten Christian Aders und Florian Starck seitdem gemeinsam mit ihren Mitarbeitern in München, Frankfurt am Main, Wien und Zürich erfolgreich daran, aus den finanzwirtschaftlichen Unternehmenssituationen ihrer Mandanten gemeinsame Erfolge zu schaffen.

TEAM

Die Partner an Ihrer Seite: Die ValueTrust Financial Experts.

  • Geschäftsleitung
  • Aufsichts-/Fachberater

Prof. Dr. Christian Aders

Vorstandsvorsitzender

Florian Starck

Vorstand

Thomas Kühl

Managing Director

Dr. Christian Büchelhofer

Managing Director

Marion Swoboda-Brachvogel

Director

Mehmet Özbay

Director

Prof. Dr. Christian Aders ist Vorstandsvorsitzender der ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE im Münchner Büro und einer der Gründer von ValueTrust. Der promovierte Diplom Kaufmann war als Partner bei KPMG Corporate Finance tätig, bevor er sich 2007 dem Aufbau des Deutschlandgeschäfts von Duff & Phelps und ValueTrust widmete.

Florian Starck ist Vorstand der ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE im Münchner Büro und einer der Gründer von ValueTrust. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums an der Universität Augsburg begann der Diplom Kaufmann seine Karriere bei KPMG in München, wo er 2004 das Steuerberaterexamen erfolgreich ablegte. Im Jahre 2007 wechselte er zu ValueTrust / Duff & Phelps.

Thomas Kühl ist Managing Director im Frankfurter Büro von ValueTrust. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums an der Otto-Friedrich Universität Bamberg sowie der Heriot-Watt University Edinburgh begann der Diplom Kaufmann/EMBSc bei KPMG im Bereich Corporate Finance, wo er das Steuerberater- sowie das Wirtschaftsprüferexamen erfolgreich ablegte. Bis zu seinem Wechsel zu ValueTrust im Sommer 2016 war er als Partner bei Baker Tilly Roelfs tätig.

Dr. Christian Büchelhofer ist Managing Director im Münchner Büro von ValueTrust. Er studierte an der European Business School Oestrich-Winkel mit dem Abschluss Diplom-Kaufmann und hält den Master of Business Research (MBR) der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU). Nach seiner Promotion zum Dr. oec. publ. an der LMU im Jahr 2007 begann er seine berufliche Laufbahn bei KPMG Deal Advisory, wo er bis zu seinem Wechsel zu ValueTrust im Januar 2018 tätig war.

Marion Swoboda-Brachvogel ist Director im Wiener Büro von ValueTrust. Sie studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und absolvierte den Master in Finance an der London Business School. Bis zu ihrem Wechsel zu ValueTrust im April 2017 war sie bei McKinsey & Company, UniCredit, C.A. Cheuvreux und B&C Industrieholding tätig.

Mehmet Özbay ist Director im Münchner Büro von ValueTrust. Er studierte Corporate Finance an der Universität zu Köln und der Universität St. Gallen und schloss sein Studium als Diplom-Kaufmann ab. Vor seinem Wechsel zu ValueTrust im Januar 2014 war er bei Duff & Phelps, Lehman Brothers und Sal. Oppenheim tätig.

C. Bernt Sannwald

Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats

Olaf Hoffmann

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats 

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schwetzler

Mitglied des Fachbeirates

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Ballwieser

Mitglied des Fachbeirates

Prof. Dr. Ewald Aschauer

Mitglied des Fachbeirats

Sina Afra

Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats

C. Bernt Sannwald ist Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE sowie Gründer und Geschäftsführer der Sannwald & Compagnie und berät ein breites Kundenspektrum zu Unternehmenstransaktionen. Er verfügt über mehr als 30 Jahre Erfahrung in der Corporate Finance Beratung deutscher und internationaler Unternehmen sowie privater und öffentlicher Investoren.

Olaf Hoffmann ist stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE sowie CEO und Präsident der Dorsch Holding GmbH und Gesellschafter der „Dorsch-Gruppe“. Seit dem Jahr 2009 ist er zudem Mitglied des Vorstands sowie des Präsidiums der Arab-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Ghorfa), in der er darüber hinaus seit 2012 Vizepräsident ist.

Bernhard Schwetzler ist Mitglied des Fachbeirates der ValueTrust sowie Professor am Lehrstuhl für Finanzmanagement und Banken an der HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Finance. Er ist Vorsitzender der Expertengruppen “Corporate Transaction and Valuation” und “Fairness Opinion” der Deutschen Vereinigung für Finanzanalyse und Asset Management (DVFA).

Wolfgang Ballwieser ist Mitglied des Fachbeirates der ValueTrust sowie emeritierter Professor an der Fakultät für Betriebswirtschaft der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München mit den Schwerpunkten Rechnungslegung und Unternehmensbewertung. Er ist Verfasser zahlreicher Publikationen zu Rechnungslegung und Unternehmensbewertung und hat auf beiden Gebieten weitreichende praktische Erfahrung.

Ewald Aschauer ist Mitglied des Fachbeirates der ValueTrust, Professor am Lehrstuhl für Systemstabilität und Unternehmensüberwachung an der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz sowie Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe für Unternehmensbewertung der Kammer der Wirtschaftstreuhänder, die den österreichischen Standard für Unternehmensbewertungen (KFS BW 1) publiziert.

Sina Afra ist Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der ValueTrust Financial Advisors SE sowie Mitgründer und CEO von Markafoni, der ersten und führenden Flash Sales Website der Türkei. Zuvor war Herr Afra mehr als 5 Jahre für eBay und für mehr als 12 Jahre für KPMG tätig. Er ist aktiver und mehrfach ausgezeichneter Business Angel und investiert durch Akinon in türkische Start-up-Unternehmen.

KOOPERATIONEN

ValueTrust und die HHL Leipzig arbeiten gemeinsam an aka demischen Studien, wie z.B. der ersten deutschen Studie über die systematische Analyse von Über nahmeangeboten und Delisting-strategien („taking private study“).

ValueTrust ist durch eine Honorarprofessur für „Praxis der transaktionsorientierten Unternehmensbewertung und der wertorientierten Unternehmensführung“ an der LMU München vertreten.

ValueTrust ist Sponsor des vierteljährlich erscheinenden „Finexpert-Reports“ der FINEXPERT GmbH. Der Bericht beinhaltet aktuelle Kapitalmarktdaten, z.B. Bewertungsmultiplikatoren, Zinsstrukturkurven und Beta-Faktoren.

ValueTrust und die Johannes Kepler Universität Linz führen gemeinsam akademische Studien durch, wie z.B. eine Studie über den österreichischen Transaktions- und Kapitalmarkt.

Ein Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von ValueTrust ist seit 2012 Mitherausgeber des Jahrbuchs Unternehmensbewertung des Handelsblatts.

Die Geschäftsleitung von ValueTrust ist Mitglied im Herausgeberrat der Fachzeitschrift Corporate Finance.

MITGLIEDSCHAFTEN

ValueTrust ist Mitglied des Vereins Münchner M&A Forum e.V. und Sponsor des halbjährlich stattfindenden Münchener M&A Forums.

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende von ValueTrust sitzt der DVFA Experten Gruppe „Best Practice Empfehlung Unternehmensbewertung” bei und ist Mitglied der DVFA Experten Gruppe „Fairness Opinions”.

Mitarbeiter von ValueTrust sind Mitglieder der „European Association of Consultants, Valuators and Analysts (EACVA)-Deutschland”, zu dessen Gründungsmitgliedern ValueTrusts Vortsandsvorsitzender zählt.

ValueTrust ist Sponsor des GCC-Germany Business and Investment Forums und des Arab-German Business Forums der Ghorfa Arab-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry e.V.
Die Geschäftsleitung von ValueTrust ist Mitglied der Expertengruppe „Investments”.

ValueTrust ist als Fairness Opinion Erstellerin für öffentliche Übernahmen und Fusionen im Schweizer Markt zugelassen.

Der Vorstandsvorsitzende von ValueTrust ist Mitglied des Verbandes der Hochschullehrer für Betriebswirtschaft e.V.

Mitarbeiter von ValueTrust sind Mitglieder der „CFA Society Germany” (lokaler Verband des CFA Instituts).